Above all, show some respect

Rebekah Barnes | Editor-In-Chief

I don’t know if I missed something, but last time I checked, the President of the United States did not come with a light saber, cape, or some all-knowing green dude to help them save the universe.

They are normal people. With huge responsibilities.

Last night, I sat down, phone in hand with my father, ready to watch the presidential candidacy debate. Now that I am of age and registered to vote, I’m trying to be as informed a voter as I can be. But as Governor Mitt Romney and President Barack Obama were speaking, I couldn’t help but refresh my Twitter and Facebook feeds—absolutely appalled at what I was seeing.

To me personally, looking at the rhetoric used and approach that the two candidates took, Romney “won” the debate. Using straight-forward and thorough answers with clear enthusiasm, I could see exactly how he would change policies and improve the economy. Obama, going for the more emotional approach, didn’t do much for me. But on the feeds on my phone, all I could see were hateful slurs and names bashing both candidates, with absolutely no basis of fact.

Just because you are a die-hard Republican, anxiously awaiting a possible “nObama” outcome, doesn’t mean that we should bash the man that is the President of the United States. Yes, President Obama did not accomplish everything that he said he would. However, he is holding one of the hardest positions in the country. And just because you take an extremely liberal stance, Governor Romney deserves an open mind for a man who, indeed, has not been in this position before.

All I’m saying is this: you have a right to your opinion. I don’t care where you affiliate yourself politically, emotionally, mentally or sexually. It’s your decision and your right. But before you begin cursing out the candidates for President of the United States, think of them as people. Politics doesn’t have to be some sunny topic where all we talk about is good. A level of respect, however, needs to be kept for the man that the majority of America voted for four years ago and a man that is trying to prove himself to the American public. Criticizing either performance, policies or approach is fine—but calling them inappropriate names does not change anything.

These two men are simply that, men. They are not equipped with chameleon-like abilities to please every human in America. They are fighting for what they believe is the best route for the country. We should respect the effort they are making, criticize their politics, and become knowledgeable citizens who come off informed instead of blindly inept.

Until the title of the President of the United States becomes SuperPresident, let’s rethink about how speak, shall we?

Comments are closed.